December 2016 clothing budget

This post contains affiliate and referral links.

It’s been a while since I’ve written one of these, but I have been trying to stick to a monthly clothing budget for the last year. I’ve been fairly successful staying within budget month to month and since I’ve been keeping track of purchases on my phone via Google Sheets, I thought this is a simple enough post to write up.

In anticipation of buying presents for people, I decided to decrease my personal clothing budget down to $100 or less this month. Which would have happened if not for the A.P.C. sale that’s currently happening.

december-2016

1. H&M knit hat – $4.99 (originally $9.99)
2. H&M sweatshirt – $9.99
3. A.P.C. Gregoire wallet – $117.50 (originally $235, sold out at A.P.C. but also on sale here)
4. Uniqlo Heattech v-neck top – $9.90 (originally/now $14.99)
5. Uniqlo Heattech crewneck top – $9.90 (originally/now $14.99)
6. Everlane cotton u-neck  – $14 (originally $20, used credit)
7. Everlane medium stripe crew  – $14 (originally $18, used credit)

Budget: $100
Spent: $152.28

A friend and I spontaneously decided to go to the mall and shop the After-Christmas sales. I ended up picking up the two H&M items above. I’ve wanted a soft knit beanie for a while especially during the recent blasting cold winds and this one is super soft and I don’t find it itchy at all. I’ve also wanted a simple black sweatshirt for a while and this one was a great light-medium weight and soft and the right price. I’ve tried staying away from fast-fashion brands but I’ve come to the terms that it’s not easy to pass up the prices when living on a graduate student stipend. I picked up a few other items but due to long fitting room lines, didn’t try them on but am planning to return those things after trying them on at home.

I’ve been using a Skagen half-zip leather wallet for the better part of a year and it’s getting a bit beat up. The Comme des Garçons Zip-Around Wallet is the wallet of my dreams but they’re never on sale and I can’t bring myself to spring $285 for a wallet. I thought about the Everlane Square Zip Wallet but couldn’t find any reviews online about the quality and decided to pass on it for the moment. I was casually browsing the A.P.C. sale online (as one does) and saw the Gregoire style wallet in black leather in the men’s sale section. I hemmed and hawed before finally pulling the trigger. I decided it would be my Christmas present to myself for the year. I’m hoping the A.P.C. brand name proceeds itself and the wallet will hold up for a while.

It got really cold really quickly about a month ago and I wasn’t prepared. I only have one Uniqlo Heattech shirt and wanted to get a few more as undershirts for sweaters so picked up two of them during a promotion.

Lastly, thank you to anyone who has made an Everlane purchase with my referral link. I was able to pick up two t-shirts using credit during their expanded Choose What You Pay range. I’m a fan of their crewneck shirts even though they’re a little long on me and have wanted to try one of the striped ones (love the red!). I’ve also been wanting to add more gray basics to my closet and picked up the grey/white microstripe in my favorite Everlane t-shirt style: the u-neck (reviewed here).

Going to try and keep my clothing budget under $100 for January since I don’t feel like I have any major gaps in my closet at the moment and need to recover from buying presents for friends and family 🙂

Linking up with Franish and other budgeting bloggers here.

One thought on “December 2016 clothing budget

  1. Pingback: January 2017 clothing budget | short of infinity

Leave a Reply

