Sephora wishlist

Been browsing Sephora to look for things to stock up on/try since F&F usually happens around this time of year. It may be restricted to only VIBs and above, but I’m embarrassed to say I’m just shy of the qualifying VIB amount (mainly due to buying gifts for people and my mom, don’t look at me like that!) so I could essentially get the “rumored” 20% off discount if I buy a few things prior.

Here are some of the things I’ve been wanting to try:
1. Stila Sun Bronzing Powder, $28

I’m leaning towards shade 2 because shade 1 looks a bit orange-y on the site, but I think a bronzer would be a nice substitute for blushes, since blushes I’ve tried in the past make my pinkish-yellow skin even pinker. I looked like a cherub!

2. Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush in Exposed, $26

Only because Tammy was telling me how she loved this product so I might as well give it a try. Exposed is a nude-ish color, so I’m hoping it won’t make me look too rosy-cheeked. I’m going to keep either the bronzer or this blush, so I’ll keep you updated.

3. LORAC Front of the Line PRO in black (liquid eyeliner), $23

While I love my Stila liquid eyeliner in brown, I’ve been wanting to try and explore the liquid eyeliner world a little bit. Stila does have good lasting power on my oily eyelids, but I’m not convinced enough to buy another one in black. I’ve heard good things about Lorac’s staying power and how precise it is, so let’s hope the black liner will deliver.

4. JINsoon nailpolish in Blue Iris (Botanical Flower Collection), $18

This is one of the first things I put on my Sephora wishlist two years ago. I’ve been searching for a perfect creme blue that matches my school’s colors and I keep coming back to this one (YSL’s Bleu Majorelle looks gorgeous but a little too purple and OCC’s Pond looks even more royal blue). This one looks like the perfect blend between an electric and royal blue. So vibrant and pretty and it’s not like any blue I currently have. So I’m going to bite the bullet and get it. Also, love the bottle.

Here are some of the things I’m restocking:

1. Tarte Pure Delights 8-Piece LipSurgence™ Lip Set, $34

I got a set of three (colors Joy, Charmed and Enchanted) a while back from tarte’s website and fell in love with these lip stains. I already have some natural lip color, so I could go without a lip product, but these are perfect if I want just a tinge of color on those crappy morning days. Charmed is running a little low so I’ve been using Enchanted more (Joy is a little too orange- don’t know what I’m going to do with this one) but I’ve been itching to try more colors. So has Tammy. We swatched the set at the SF Sephora a little while ago and we’ve decided it’s wonderful and we’re going to split it (since how could we possibly use all 8 colors?). It also happens that Tammy’s not a huge fan of the matte ones, but I’m interested in them. We also have slightly different color preferences so it’s lit-era-lly (channeling my inner Chris Traeger) perfect.

2. Shiseido Urban Environment Oil-Free UV Protector Broad Spectrum SPF 42 For Face, $30

My mom is heading back to Taiwan in a few weeks so I actually asked her to see if she could get this cheaper in Asia, so it’s probably not going to be part of my haul, but this product is magical. If you’re still reading this, let me tell you now, WEAR SUNSCREEN. I’m currently taking a Biology of Cancer class and shit is scary. You will increase your risk of developing certain cancers so much more if you don’t protect your skin. I only started using sunscreen about two years ago, but I regret not starting sooner. It’ll help reflect UV radiation away rather than your cells absorbing it and having it cause damage. DON’T MESS WITH YOUR DNA IF YOU CAN HELP IT. So yeah, this product is wonderful. Has never clogged my pores and helps keep my oily face a little at bay. My last bottle lasted me a whole year; I only ever use a dime size amount a day, maximum.

3. Shiseido Ultimate Cleansing Oil, $25

I’m considering just buying this full price since I’m running really really low and it’s one of my essentials. I pretty much wear a powder foundation everyday (especially since I ran out of my sunscreen and the foundation has SPF 25) and knowing my skin, the powder will clog my pores (even though it’s noncomedogenic… curse you large pores!) if I don’t clean my skin properly. I pump one pump of this and spread it around my entire face and wash it off in the shower (rub it in with a little water to emulsify it before just dowsing your head under the shower head). I always follow it with a cleanser or exfoliator to be on the safe side. I haven’t really had many cosmetic-caused breakouts or pimples (it’s always the hormonal kind sigh) since using this. Also, I’ve occasionally followed my cleansing with a toner and no makeup ever appears on the cotton pad.

2 thoughts on “Sephora wishlist

Leave a Reply

